You are here


In order to continue to provide users with the advanced instrumentation, staff, training, and assistance that you and other researchers require to undertake research work, CEMAS needs to report on the number and type of publications produced by users of the Center. 

Published data should include an acknowledgement to CEMAS such as: “Electron microscopy was performed at the Center for Electron Microscopy and Analysis (CEMAS) at The Ohio State University.

  • Alam, T., Gwalani, B., Viswanathan, G. et al. JOM (2018).

  • Luo, X., B. Li, X. Zhang, W. Zhao, A. Bratasz, B. Deng, D. W. McComb and Y. Dong (2017). "Dual-functional lipid-like nanoparticles for delivery of mRNA and MRI contrast agents." Nanoscale 9(4): 1575-1579.

  • Alexander, Jessica A, et al. “High-Resolution Monochromated Electron Energy-Loss Spectroscopy of Organic Photovoltaic Materials.” Ultramicroscopy, North-Holland, 2 Mar. 2017,
  • Titus, M. S., R. K. Rhein, P. B. Wells, P. C. Dodge, G. B. Viswanathan, M. J. Mills, A. Van Der Ven, and T. M. Pollock. "Solute Segregation and Deviation from Bulk Thermodynamics at Nanoscale Crystalline Defects." Science Advances 2.12 (2016). doi: 10.1126/sciadv.1601796 
  • Y. Kim, S. S. Cruz, Y. Song, B. Alawode, J. M. Johnson, C. Heidelberger, W. Kong, S. Choi, Y. S. Lee, C. Choi, E. A. Fitzgerald, A. Kolpak, J. Kong, J. Hwang, and J. Kim, "Remote epitaxy through graphene for two-dimensional material based layer transfer", Nature 544, 340 (2017).​
  • Boona, Stephen R., Koen Vandaele, Isabel N. Boona, David W. Mccomb, and Joseph P. Heremans. "Observation of Spin Seebeck Contribution to the Transverse Thermopower in Ni-Pt and MnBi-Au Bulk Nanocomposites." Nature Communications 7 (2016): 13714. doi:10.1038/ncomms13714
  • Smith, T. M., B. D. Esser, N. Antolin, A. Carlsson, R. E. A. Williams, A. Wessman, T. Hanlon, H. L. Fraser, W. Windl, D. W. Mccomb, and M. J. Mills. "Phase Transformation Strengthening of High-temperature Superalloys." Nature Communications 7 (2016): 13434. 
  • J. H. Gruenewald, J. H. Kim, H. S. Kim, J. M. Johnson, J. Hwang, M. Souri, J. Terzic, S. H. Chang, A. Said, J. W. Brill, G. Cao, H. Y. Kee, and S. S. A. Seo, “Creating one-dimensional quantum stripes from layered materials”, Advanced Materials (2016).

  • B. D. Esser, A. J. Hauser, R. E. A. Williams, L. J. Allen, P. M. Woodward, F. Yang, D. W. McComb. “Quantitative STEM Imaging of Order-Disorder Phenomena in Double Perovskite Thin Films.” Physical Review Letters 117, 176101.

  • J. C. Gallagher, A. S. Yang, J. T. Brangham, B. D. Esser, S. P. White, K. Y. Meng, S. Yu, R. Adur, W. Ruane, D. W. McComb, F. Y. Yang, P. C. Hammel. “Exceptionally High Magnetization of Stoichiometric Y3Fe5O12 Epitaxial Films Grown on Gd3Ga5O12.” Applied Physics Letters 109, 072401 (2016).

  • J. C. Gallagher, K. Y. Meng, J. Brangham, H. L. Wang, B. D. Esser, D. W. McComb, and F.Y. Yang. “Robust Zero-Field Skyrmion Formation in FeGe Epitaxial Thin Films”.

  • J. T. Brangham, K. Y. Meng, A. S. Yang, J. C. Gallagher, B. D. Esser, S. P. White, S. Yu, D. W. McComb, P. C. Hammel, and F. Y. Yang. “Thickness Dependence of Spin Hall Angle in Gold grown on Y3Fe5O12 Epitaxial Films.” Physical Review B 94, 054418 (2016).

  • T. M. Smith, M. S. Hooshmand, B. D. Esser, F. Otto, D. W. McComb, M. Ghazisaeidi, E. P. George, and M. J. Mills. “Atomic-Scale Characterization and Modeling of 60° Dislocations in a High Entropy Alloy.” Acta Materialia 110 (2016): 352–363.

  • ATM G. Sarwar, F Yang, B. D. Esser, T. F. Kent, D. W. McComb, and R. C. Myers. “Self-assembled InN Micro-Mushrooms By Upside-down Pendeoepitaxy.” Journal of Crystal Growth 443 (2016): 90-97.

  • J. C. Gallagher, B. D. Esser, R. Morrow, S. R. Dunsiger, R. E. A. Williams, P. M. Woodward, D. W. McComb, and F. Y. Yang. “Epitaxial growth of iridate pyrochlore Nd2Ir2O7 films.” Scientific Reports 6, 22282 (2016).

  • T. M. Smith, B. D. Esser, N. Antoli­­n, G. B. Viswanathan, T. Hanlon, A. Wessman, D. Mourer, W. Windl, D. W. McComb, and M. J. Mills. "Segregation and η phase formation along stacking faults during creep at intermediate temperatures in a Ni-based superalloy." Acta Materialia 100 (2015): 19-31.

  • Jared Johnson, Soohyun Im, Wolfgang Windl, and Jinwoo Hwang, "Three-dimensional imaging of individual point defects using selective detection angles in annular dark field scanning transmission electron microscopy", Ultramicroscopy 172, 17 (2017).
  • J. Thompson, J. M. Johnson, S. Ryee, J. Gruenewald, J. G. Connell, J. Nichols, S. Lee, J. Hwang, M. J. Han, H. N. Lee, D.-W. Kim, and S. S. A. Seo, "Enhanced metallic properties of SrRuO3 thin-films via moderated pulsed laser epitaxy", Applied Physics Letters 109, 161902 (2016).
  • Yiping Wang, Lucas Seewald, Yi-Yang Sun, Pawel Keblinski, Shengbai Zhang, Jared M. Johnson, Jinwoo Hwang, Toh- Ming Lu, Jian Shi, “Nonlinear Electron-Lattice Interactions in a Wurtzite Semiconductor Enabled via Strongly Correlated Oxide”, Advanced Materials (2016). doi: 10.1002/adma.201602178
  • F. Akyol, S. Krishnamoorthy, Y. Zhang, J. Johnson, Jinwoo Hwang, and S. Rajan, "Low-resistance GaN tunnel homojunctions with 150 kA/cm2 current and repeatable negative differential resistance", Appl. Phys. Lett. 103, 131103 (2016).
  • Choong Hee Lee, William McCulloch, Edwin W. Lee II, Lu Ma, Sriram Krishnamoorthy, Jinwoo Hwang, Yiying Wu, and Siddharth Rajan, “Transferred large area single crystal MoS2 field effect transistors”, Appl. Phys. Lett. 107, 193503 (2015).
  • Yuewei Zhang, Sriram Krishnamoorthy, Jared M. Johnson, Fatih Akyol, Andrew Armstrong, Andrew Allerman, Jinwoo Hwang, and Siddharth Rajan, "Interband Tunneling for Hole Injection In III-Nitride Ultraviolet Emitters", Appl. Phys. Lett. 106, 141103 (2015).
  • Kayla Presley, Jinwoo Hwang, Soshan Chang, Richard Tilley, Josh Collins, Mariano Viapiano, and John Lannutti, "Nanoscale upconversion for oxygen sensing", Materials Science and Engineering C 70, 76-84 (2017).
  • Vidya P. Bhallamudi, Ruipeng Xue, Carola M. Purser, Kayla F. Presley, Yeshavanth K. Banasavadi-Siddegowda, Jinwoo Hwang, Balveen Kaur, P. Chris Hammel, Michael G. Poirier, John J. Lannutti, and Ramasamy P. Pandian, "Nanofiber-based paramagnetic probes for rapid, real-time biomedical oximetry", Biomedical Microdevices 18(2), 1-10 (2016).
  • Zheng, Yufeng, Robert E.a. Williams, Dong Wang, Rongpei Shi, Soumya Nag, Pavani Kami, John M. Sosa, Rajarshi Banerjee, Yunzhi Wang, and Hamish L. Fraser. "Role of ω Phase in the Formation of Extremely Refined Intragranular α Precipitates in Metastable β-titanium Alloys." Acta Materialia 103 (2016): 850-58.
  • Zheng, Yufeng, Robert E.a. Williams, John M. Sosa, Yunzhi Wang, Rajarshi Banerjee, and Hamish L. Fraser. "The Role of the ω Phase on the Non-classical Precipitation of the α Phase in Metastable β-titanium Alloys." Scripta Materialia 111 (2016): 81-84.
  • Zheng, Yufeng, Robert E.a. Williams, John M. Sosa, Talukder Alam, Yunzhi Wang, Rajarshi Banerjee, and Hamish L. Fraser. "The Indirect Influence of the ω Phase on the Degree of Refinement of Distributions of the α Phase in Metastable β-Titanium Alloys." Acta Materialia 103 (2016): 165-73.
  • Zheng, Yufeng, Robert E.a. Williams, and Hamish L. Fraser. "Characterization of a Previously Unidentified Ordered Orthorhombic Metastable Phase in Ti-5Al-5Mo-5V-3Cr." Scripta Materialia 113 (2016): 202-05.
  • Lee, Choong Hee, William Mcculloch, Edwin W. Lee, Lu Ma, Sriram Krishnamoorthy, Jinwoo Hwang, Yiying Wu, and Siddharth Rajan. "Transferred Large Area Single Crystal MoS2 Field Effect Transistors." Appl. Phys. Lett. Applied Physics Letters 107.19 (2015): 193503.
  • Zhang, Yuewei, Sriram Krishnamoorthy, Jared M. Johnson, Fatih Akyol, Andrew Allerman, Michael W. Moseley, Andrew Armstrong, Jinwoo Hwang, and Siddharth Rajan. "Interband Tunneling for Hole Injection in III-nitride Ultraviolet Emitters." Appl. Phys. Lett. Applied Physics Letters106.14 (2015): 141103.